Back to search results

HECTOR

American Bulldog, Crossbreed | 1 years old

Description

***Due to the National Lockdown the branch is closed for viewings, we are still accepting applications forms and will be in touch with the most suitable matches when we are able to reopen. Hector cannot be rehomed using the remote adoption process as he will need lots of visits at the centre***


Hi there, I’m Handsome Hector. I am an American Bulldog of approximately 12-18 months old. I am now ready to start the search for my forever home. Please make sure you read all of my write up before applying because I need a very specific home.


Sadly, I was left abandoned at the centre in August 2020. As you can imagine I was a very confused boy and unfortunately this has damaged my trust in people. I now love my carers so much, but find it hard getting to know new people (hopefully you can understand why I feel like this). I will need you to take a hands off approach and let me get to know you at my own pace. You will need to be prepared to make regular visits over a number of weeks before I can go home with you, we ask potential adopters to live no more than 1 hour’s drive from the Animal Centre.


I need an adult only home with no visiting children or the possibility of living with children in the future. I am looking for a calm home with not many visitors as new people worry me. Staff would suggest that I am introduced to any new people outside and at my own pace, rather than having people forced on me. I need a non-smoking home as staff suspect that I have had a bad experience with cigarettes in the past.


As I am nervous of new people I am looking for a predictable home with understanding owners where I can be separated from the front door. Ideally my new home will be set back from busy roads/paths and have limited visibility from passers by as this can worry me. It is important that I feel safe in my new home.


I need a large breed experienced home as I weigh a whopping 40kg so you will need to be confident, strong and calm. I sometimes forget my size and often think that I am a lap dog!! Because I love human company so much you will need to be around most of the day initially and teach me that it is ok for me to be on my own.


I love my food and treats which makes training fun! I know a few tricks already but am always eager to learn, so I’d love for you to continue this. My favourite thing to do is bounce around the off lead with my squeaky ball! So it is important that I have big and secure garden with 6ft fencing for me to play in.


Due to my nervous nature my new owners will need to understand the importance of me wearing my muzzle in public. But please don’t let this put you off… underneath my bold appearance is a sensitive soul with a huge heart!


I have seen a lot of dogs on my walks and they don’t seem too bad, but I’m not quite sure what to do sometimes. So you will need to continue with my socialisation. This means I need to be the only pet in the home.


My carers have told me it may take me just a little bit longer to find my forever home, but it will definitely be worth the wait! They say I am such a goofball who always has them laughing! I am an oversized puppy who still has lot’s to learn! Once I trust you I will love you with all my heart!


I cannot wait to find my forever home! Please give me a chance, I’ll be worth it!


If you are interested in adopting me, please register your interest by sending us an adoption application form and we will be in touch with the most suitable applicants. These individuals will be invited to the Animal Centre by appointment only at that time. Please try not to be disappointed if you do not hear back from us we are experiencing a high volume of applications recently and we do not have the resources to contact everyone

Additional details

  • Size :

  • Age :

  • 1

  • Breed :

  • Colour :

  • American Bulldog, Crossbreed

  • White, Tan

Location RSPCA, Moor Knoll Ln, East Ardsley, Wakefield, WF3 2DX

About a American Bulldog

  • Breed Type :

  • Avg Height :

  • Avg Weight :

  • -

  • 56 - 69 cm

  • 27 - 54 kgs

  • Avg Life Span :

  • Breed Origin :

  • 10 - 12 years

  • -