Back to search results

HAGRID

Whippet, Crossbreed | 1 years old

Description

***Due to the National Lockdown the branch is closed for viewings. We are still accepting applications forms. Hagrid can be rehomed using the remote adoption process, you would need to live within a 30 minute drive from the Animal Centre as Hagrid doesn't travel well, if you are a suitable match we will be in touch with you***


Hi, I’m Hagrid!


I arrived at the centre after I was found straying and I am now ready to find my forever home.


I am a lurcher type (staff think possibly Whippet X), of approx 1 year old.


I am a sweet boy who is looking for a quiet but active home. I would benefit from experienced owners who have the time and knowledge to train me.


I can often find the big wide world a little bit overwhelming, but I am beginning to love my walks with staff & volunteers as my confidence is growing. As I am a sighthound, I do have a high prey drive so new owners will need to be aware of this and the need to wear my muzzle in public. Therefore, I cannot live with small furries or cats.


I am a sensitive soul who enjoys human company and dislikes being on my own. Therefore, you will need to be around most of the day and teach me that it is ok for me to be alone at times.


I'm not quite sure how to act around dogs sometimes, so you will need to continue with my socialisation and learning how to greet other dogs correctly. This means I need to be the only pet in the home.


I can be quite nervous of new people initially (mostly men), so I need a calm and understanding owner who will give me the time and space to learn that you're here to be my friend. For this reason I can only live with adults and teenagers of 16+. Once I trust you I love nothing more than playing tuggy with you and snuggling up next to you, I will be your friend for life.


I need a private and secure garden with fencing of 6ft minimum.


I LOVE my food which makes training fun! I am a very intelligent boy who is always eager to learn.


Being a typical sighthound... I am not a fan of the wind and rain... I would much prefer to be cuddled up next to you.


I cannot wait to find my forever home!


If you are interested in adopting me, please register your interest by sending us an adoption application form and we will be in touch with the most suitable applicants. Please try not to be disappointed if you do not hear back from us we are experiencing a high volume of applications recently and we do not have the resources to contact everyone.

Additional details

  • Size :

  • Age :

  • 1

  • Breed :

  • Colour :

  • Whippet, Crossbreed

  • Black

Location RSPCA, Moor Knoll Ln, East Ardsley, Wakefield, WF3 2DX

About a Whippet

  • Breed Type :

  • Avg Height :

  • Avg Weight :

  • -

  • 46 - 56 cm

  • 11 - 16 kgs

  • Avg Life Span :

  • Breed Origin :

  • 12 - 15 years

  • -